Interlock Ignition in Car

Even if your conviction happened before the Interlock and the FR44 laws came into effect… look what happened to one woman in Virginia!


News article by WAVY, HAMPTON, Va.

If you’re convicted of DUI in Virginia, you’ll be required to put an interlock ignition on your car. That law went into effect in 2012, but one Hampton woman says she was forced to put the device on her car even though her DUI conviction happened 12 years ago.

After almost two decades of highs and lows, Hampton’s Jacquelyn Braden wants to focus on her 1-year-old granddaughter.

“What’s grandma doing?” she asked little Bella. “Come here.”

But Bella has no idea what her grandma has gone though.

“You know I shouldn’t have been drinking,” Braden said.

Braden’s nightmare happened when she got the DUI 12 years ago. Her kids were in the car when she was pulled over in the middle of day. It was her second DUI in five years.

“That was wrong,” Braden added. “I shouldn’t have had the kids in my car.”

Braden was sentenced to three years in prison because she was classified as a habitual offender. It was an experience she says changed her life.

“It was horrible,” she said. “It was horrible, because life keeps going out here, but it doesn’t in there.”

After she got out, she didn’t drive for years. She wasn’t able to get her license back because of lingering fines.

“I never had the money to pay off my fines, because I was a single parent trying to raise my daughter,” Braden said.

Last year, she finally paid them off. She even took an alcohol awareness class again, but when she went to get her license back she got a surprise.

“Then they were like you got to do the interlock,” Braden added.

Even though Braden’s DUI happened 12 years ago, she now drives with an interlock ignition device attached to her car.

“I should be able to start my car and this is what I got through,” Braden said after blowing into the device. “I can’t get from here and maybe two blocks up and I will have to blow again.”

In 2012, Virginia law began requiring interlock ignitions for all drivers convicted of DUI. That happened years after Braden was arrested and even after she spent three years in prison.

“I don’t think it’s right, because I was out of the timeframe when they made it mandatory,” Braden added.

10 On Your Side contacted the DMV. A spokeswoman told us she is not able to talk about Braden’s case, but did tell she would contact Braden directly to explain. Braden was told she was given the interlock because her fines weren’t paid off until 2018.  State law does allow DMV the discretion to put on an interlock even if a judge doesn’t require one. She believes it is overkill.

“That’s the only thing that stopped me from getting my license back,” Braden said. “It wasn’t that I wasn’t paying the fines. I just couldn’t keep up.”

The habitual offender tag is now gone. Braden says she put her past in the rear view mirror.

“I know what it cost me, and I’m not willing to lose what I have again,” Braden added. “It’s taken me too long to get where I am. I’ve done my time and I’m still paying for it. When do it get to stop paying for my mistakes years ago?”

Braden has had the interlock on her car for three months. She will have it taken off in three months if there are no violations.

fr44 car insurance florida

FR44 Car Insurance Florida

FR44 Car Insurance Florida is a document called a Certificate of Financial Responsibility which certifies that you have the required liability insurance that the Florida DMV requires after any conviction for any Florida DUI.

You will be required to carry increased liability insurance, otherwise called FR44 Car Insurance Florida, after conviction for a DUI or DWI , in the State of Florida, for a period of three years.  The three years starts from the date of your conviction, not the date of the incident.

Getting a  FR44 Car Insurance Florida policy is simple if you call FR44 & SR22 Experts.  We have been in business for over 10 years and specialize in FR44 Car Insurance Florida for high-risk drivers.



How do I know if I need FR44 Florida Insurance?

How do I know if I need a FR44 Florida Insurance.

If a Florida FR44 is ordered by the court, the judge will include this requirement at your hearing. If the FR44 is state-ordered you will get a letter from the Florida DMV (Florida Division of motor vehicles) indicating the FR44 Florida Insurance requirement before your driver's license reinstatement.

You will need a Florida FR44 if:

  • Convicted of DUI or DWI
  • Granted a Hardship license (issued for driving to and from work because of the DUI or DWI)

If you need a Florida FR44, we are here to help!



Find a Florida DUI School

A list of licensed DUI Programs can be found by clicking here. Please note that you may only attend a DUI program that serves the county of your current residence, the county of your current employment, or the county in which you attend school.

Hillsborough County – Tampa, Florida – leads state in DUI drivers

Article from WFTS – Tampa Bay Florida

Hillsborough County leads the state in the number of people arrested for DUI, according to arrest reports, and New Year’s Eve is the most dangerous night on the roads.

This year, thousands of people will be going out to parties and bars to celebrate the New Year.

According to AAA , the odds of getting in a car accident on New Year’s Eve skyrockets.

In Florida, loopholes in the law mean drivers who get a DUI can drive for months as they await their court date.

Pinellas County already saw a fatal DUI crash the weekend before New Years. The crash killed Robert Lee Fournier of Seminole. FHP says Fournier pulled out in front of a pickup truck at the intersection of Starkey and Magnolia in Seminole. The man he hit was drunk.

Several Bay area bars plan to help keep impaired drivers off the road Monday night. Joshua Connell, the owner of Five Bucks Drinkery, says he isn’t afraid to ask his customers tough questions. “I encourage our staff to ask people ’How are you getting home? What’s your plan? Are you driving?’,” he explained. “We cut people off if they get too drunk. If somebody is really not looking good, we are going to stick them in a cab or an Uber. We’re going to make sure people get home safe,” Connell added.

Here are some statistics to keep in mind as you hit the road this New Year’s Eve:

Across the country, 36 people, on average, were killed every day in crashes involving alcohol between 2001 and 2005. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, on New Year’s Day alone, that number went up an average of 54.
DUI arrests peak between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day.
Between Christmas and New Year’s, 40 percent of deadly crashes involve drunk drivers, according to the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism.
AAA said more pedestrians are killed on New Year’s Day than any other day of the year.
If you’re walking around to get to another party or bar, just be aware of your surroundings.

AAA is sharing ways to get help you home safe. They say plan to have a designated driver before heading out for to celebrate. If you don’t have one, call a ride-sharing service like Lyft or Uber or call a taxi.
We can also change the title to make it more local if you’d like. Hillsborough County leads the state in DUI drivers.

FR44 vs SR22

fr44 vs sr22

Both FR44 and SR22 are Certificates of Financial Responsibility. The form FR44 and SR22 must be filed by a licensed Insurance agent. FR44 vs SR22 - the FR44 Form is required after conviction in Florida and Virginia. Florida and Virginia also have SR22 requirements but for those that are classified as High-Risk Drivers, the DUI conviction triggers the FR44 requirements. Most other states require SR22 coverage for DUI and/or high-risk drivers.

Florida and Virginia are the only two states. at this time, that require the special FR44. Here is what the FR44 form actually looks like

Form FR44

FR44 Automobile Insurance is a highly specialized form of Auto Insurance. At FR44 and SR22 Insurance Experts this is all we do. We shop over 10 A rated Insurance Companies to find the Best Florida FR44 and the Cheapest Florida FR44 for you, based on your needs. Our agents speak Spanish as well as English and are available for your call or you can use our online quote system to get a fast, efficient Florida FR44.

FR44 & SR22 Insurance Experts can help you with both your SR22 and FR44 Insurance florida needs. Sam Ridgeway is the owner and managing director of Fr44 & SR22 Insurance Experts. Sam is a US Army War Veteran who has over 15 years of experience in the Insurance Industry and decided to specialize in this High Risk Driver Insurance in order to provide FR44 Insurance Florida to those that need it at the very best price.

You can meet Sam in our videos that he has made to try to assist our customers through the maze of requirements to reinstate a Florida Drivers License!

Form Fr44 Florida

If you are convicted of a Florida DUI you must have an Insurance Agent file a Form FR44 with the State of Florida. The actual FLORIDA

This is what the actual Form FR44 looks like

Form FR44

In order for the Form FR44 to be valid, it must be signed and submitted by a qualified FR44 Insurance Expert. “The company signatory certifies that it has issued to the above named insured a motor vehicle liability policy as required by the financial responsibility laws of Florida, which policy becomes effective on the above Certification Effective Date” At FR44 & SR22 Insurance Experts we shop over 10 A Rated Insurance Companies and find the best and the cheapest FR44 Insurance available based on your information. This Form FR44, or Financial Responsibility Certificate, must be maintained for the time set by the State of Florida in order to keep your drivers license valid.

Call or use our online quote system to obtain the best and cheapest Florida Form FR44 rates!

What to know when calling for fr44 quotes

When you caLL OR use our on-line quote system, it is helpful to have some information ready.

1. Your Drivers License – State issued and the Drivers License Number

2. Information about your vehicle, if you own one – year make model and VIN.

3. You will be asked what State you need your FR44 filed in – this is either Florida or Virginia

4. If you were convicted of a DUI you will need an FR44 Insurance certificate, if you are a high risk driver a SR22. Which court and the case number are extremely helpful If you are not sure, we can figure this out for you.

5. If you currently have insurance, it is helpful to know policy number, the company that issued it, and the term of the policy.

So to answer the question “What to know when calling for fr44 quotes?” the above items are the things you will need to know and provide when calling for FR44 Quotes.

It is important to know that at FR44 and SR22 Insurance Experts, all we do is provide these two types of Insurance policies – FR44 Automobile Insurance for Florida and Virginia and SR22 Insurance nationally. We are the #1 Insurance in Florida for FR44 Insurance – we provide thousands of policies every year and have over 15 years of experience with High Risk Policies. FR44 and SR22 Insurance is all we do and we do it exceptionally well. We are a long-standing member of the National Ethics Association.

Fr44 and SR22 Insurance Experts is owned and managed by Sam Ridgeway who is a US Army War Veteran. You can meet Sam in any one of the videos that are on this site and should be able to judge for yourself the honesty and integrity he possesses.

Call us or use the online quote system and with the information you provide, we will shop at least 10 A Rated Insurance Companies and get you the very best policy based on your needs at the absolute cheapest rate.

Veterans Diversion Program

Veterans Diversion Program

The Veterans Diversion program provides veterans charged with a crime a second chance. Rather than be punished with mandatory jail time and other penalties, the vet participates in the program, and the charges against him or her are dropped once the program is completed.

Veterans Diversion Program Eligibility

Our Orange County lawyers can offer you guidance throughout the Veterans Diversion program. First, it must be determined if you are eligible to participate. To qualify, the offense cannot be:

  • A forcible felony
  • A weapons offense
  • A first-degree felony
  • A criminal traffic offense, but the veteran can still qualify for DUI diversion
  • Child abuse
  • A sex offenseIf you are eligible for Veterans Diversion, you will be required to:
    • Complete community service hours
    • Pay criminal restitution, if it applies in your case
    • Meet with corrections officer on a monthly basis
    • Complete recommended programsAdditionally, if it is a domestic violence offense, the vet must complete an approved batterer’s intervention program.When you have successfully completed Veterans Diversion, the charges against you will be dismissed, and you can have the entire case expunged from your record if you are otherwise eligible.

      The Veterans Diversion program recognizes that vets often have many problems when they come home from war. Depression, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), trouble adjusting to “normal” life — these can all play a role in their behavior.

How to Get Car Insurance After a DUI

The easiest and simplest way to get gread Florida FR44 Insurance is to use our quote system.  We shop only A Rated companies and will provide you with the absolute best prices available based on your situation and history.  FloridaFR44


You can get car insurance after a DUI conviction, but you’ll have to work harder to find it, and you’ll pay a lot more for the coverage.

Insurance companies consider anyone with a recent DUI conviction a high risk. If you’re arrested for driving under the influence but convicted of a lesser charge, then your insurer will consider the lesser charge when calculating rates.

In a roadside survey conducted in 2013 and 2014, drivers with a breath alcohol concentration above 0.08% — considered intoxicated in every state — were about four times more likely to crash than sober drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. A separate NHTSA survey found that more than 10,000 people were killed in crashes involving alcohol-impaired drivers in 2013 — about 31% of all people who died in car accidents.

What to expect

Your current car insurance company might drop you at renewal time if you’ve been convicted of a DUI, forcing you to find another carrier. Or it might put you in a higher risk category and jack up your premiums.

In a recent analysis of car insurance rates in 10 cities, NerdWallet found that a DUI conviction caused drivers’ premiums to increase by an average of $857.53. Higher rates can last for years.

Proving you’re covered

You won’t only face consequences from your insurer after a DUI conviction. In many cases, you’ll also lose your license — at least temporarily — and you might have to prove that you have insurance coverage to get it reinstated.

In some states, drivers seeking reinstatement must have a special certificate, saying that they have a minimum amount of car insurance, on file with their DMV. The form is most commonly called an SR-22. Florida and Virginia require a similar form called FR-44. The court or the state will notify you if you need one.

You may see references to companies that sell “SR-22 insurance” or “FR-44 insurance.” These aren’t special policies; these companies simply sell coverage to people who need the form filed on their behalf.

Not all companies offer the form. If you need an SR-22 or FR-44, you may have to shop around. Geico and Progressive are among big-name insurers that file the forms.
Some companies ask if you need an SR-22 during the online quoting process. Other insurers instruct you to call if you need the form.

You will pay a one-time fee — usually about $25 — for the insurance company to file for you. The fee is in addition to your premium.

Compare quotes

Even if your current company doesn’t drop you after a DUI, it’s a good idea to get quotes from several insurers to make sure you’re still getting the best possible price. Our quote comparison tool for FR44 Insurance can help you get started.

Don’t try to hide your violation. Insurance companies will find out about it when they pull your driving record.

Once you have several quotes, make sure the policies you compare are for the same levels and types of coverage, and make sure each insurer can file any forms that are required in your state.

Talk to an independent car insurance agent or an insurance company representative if you need help.




How Much Does a DUI Cost?

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is dangerous to you and everyone else on the road. Even if you don’t crash your car, getting arrested for a DUI could cost you thousands of dollars in legal fees and other costs. You’ll pay more for car insurance after a DUI for years, too.

“A $20 drink tab can turn into $10,000 down the drain,” says defense attorney Kevin Smith, a partner at Pattis & Smith in New Haven, Connecticut.

A DUI produces both explicit and hidden costs, Smith says. The total will vary depending on the defendant, jurisdiction and requirements imposed by the court or state law.

Tickets? You might be able to get a better deal on coverage by comparing quotes through NerdWallet’s car insurance tool.

The cost of a DUI

Here are some of the costs you could face after a drunk driving arrest:

Bond: You could be released on your own recognizance, or you might have to post bond. In Connecticut where Smith practices, he says, the bond typically ranges from $500 to $2,000. The defendant must pay at least 10% of the bond amount to be released.

Attorney: The cost of a DUI attorney varies depending on the seriousness of the case and the jurisdiction, but generally starts at about $1,000 for the simplest cases. Your attorney’s bill will be on the low end if you qualify for a diversion program, which sets aside charges for first offenders who complete certain requirements, such as alcohol education or community service hours.

If the case goes to trial, you’ll pay a lot more. Defense attorney Larry Forman of Louisville, Kentucky, says he would typically charge $5,000 to $7,500 for a DUI trial. In some states, such as New Jersey and Florida, similar services would range from $8,000 to $10,000, he estimates.

Court fees and fines: The attorney’s bill doesn’t include fees and fines levied by the court. Smith says those could range from $200 to $2,000.

Ignition interlock: In some states you may have to get an ignition interlock installed to regain driving privileges. The device is wired to the vehicle’s ignition system, and the driver must blow into the device before starting the car. If alcohol is detected on the driver’s breath, the car won’t start. Smith says that in Connecticut, a driver would pay a $200 installation fee plus about $60 every three months for maintenance.

Diversion program: This isn’t a get-out-of-jail-free program; you have to pay to participate. The cost is usually a few hundred dollars. For example, the program fee in Jefferson County, Kentucky, where Forman practices, is $300.

License reinstatement fees: Your license will be suspended after a DUI arrest, and you’ll have to pay to get it reinstated. Fees vary widely by state, but they can be significant. In Minnesota, for example, the reinstatement fee after an alcohol-related suspension is $680.

Lost wages: In many cases a DUI conviction means jail time. Even without jail time, drivers arrested for DUI face license suspension and time in court, both of which can lead to lost wages.

DUI car insurance rates

Your car insurance rates could double after a DUI, and your rates are likely to remain high for at least a few years. NerdWallet compared quotes for 25- and 50-year-old drivers with a DUI and with clean records among three big insurers in California, Florida and New York.

A DUI led to the biggest price jumps in California, where the average premium from the three companies more than doubled.

What Is Non-Owner Car Insurance?

A non-owner car insurance policy allows drivers to have coverage when they rent or borrow a vehicle they do not own. It also covers someone who does not own a car but needs to have car insurance to get their driver’s license back after having it revoked. Non-owner insurance can be a relatively affordable way to make sure you’re covered when you drive, even if you don’t own a car.

A non-owner car insurance policy offers very specific coverage, including bodily injury and property damage liability coverage. It’s important to have this coverage because if you cause an accident while driving a car you don’t own, you could be on the hook for costly medical and property damage bills. If you have non-owner insurance, you’ll be covered.

Bodily injury liability coverage, as part of a non-owner policy, comes into play if you are at-fault for an accident and someone sustains injuries. In that case, you’re responsible for their medical care costs, short or long term.

If you’re driving a car you don’t own, and you’re involved in an accident that causes property damage, such as to another car or someone’s house, you are responsible for covering the repair or replacement costs. Property damage liability policies don’t cover damage to the car you are driving. Instead, that car is covered under its owner’s collision insurance or comprehensive insurance.

Non-Owner Car Insurance Costs

Non-owner car insurance costs much less than traditional car insurance. Factors that determine how much you pay for this type of insurance are much the same as those that influence your traditional auto insurance rates. Before giving you a quote, companies will want to know your age, sex, driving record, and use intentions. Some insurers may use your credit rating. These factors help determine your risk level based on historical risk data. The higher a risk you are, the more your policy will cost.

For instance, if you’ve received a DUI citation, you’ll pay more for your non-owner car insurance policy because insurance agencies consider you a higher risk based on previous risky behavior. Other risk factors include multiple accidents and frequent claims for damage.

Do your research ahead of time. Know what you can afford, how much insurance you probably need, and the value of your assets. Get quotes from multiple car insurance providers and choose the best policy for you, not just the one with the lowest cost. Find out about any cancellation penalties or discounts for paying a significant amount upfront as opposed to monthly or bi-annual payments.

Who Needs Non-Owner Car Insurance?

If you frequently rent vehicles, use a car-sharing service, borrow other people’s cars, or need to maintain insurance coverage between vehicle ownership, you may want to consider this type of coverage.

Most car owners have an insurance policy for their vehicle that covers people who drive their car with permission. However, if you’re involved in a collision and the amount of damage exceeds the amount of liability an insurance policy covers, you may be responsible for the difference. A non-owner car insurance policy can cover expenses you may be responsible for in this situation.

Rental Cars

If you rent a car, the rental company will offer you the opportunity to purchase an insurance policy that covers your rental car in the event of a collision, up to a certain predetermined dollar amount. If you frequently rent cars, purchasing your own non-owner car insurance policy may end up being cheaper than purchasing the car rental company’s policy.

You Don’t Own a Car Now but Are Shopping for a New One

If you sell your car but don’t immediately get a new one, you may want coverage while you’re without wheels, whether you’re renting, borrowing, or sharing vehicles during that time. Having a policy while you’re between cars gives you continuous coverage, which helps keep your rates down overall, as most insurance companies see a lapse in coverage as a risk factor that raises rates.

You Drive a Company Car

If you drive a company car for work, your business should have an insurance policy that covers you in the event of a collision while on the job. Before you get behind the wheel, be sure that you have proof of insurance, such as an insurance card or a printed document. It will help set your mind at ease, and you’ll need the documentation in the event of an accident.

If your company hasn’t purchased what you deem to be an acceptable level of auto insurance, or their insurance doesn’t cover your liability, you may want to consider protecting yourself by purchasing a non-owner auto policy. To make this decision, you’ll want to weigh the cost of insurance with the value of your personal assets along with the coverage currently offered by your company.

Non-Owner Insurance and Revoked Driver’s License

A few special cases make having a non-owner car insurance policy a good idea. Most have to do with convictions for traffic infractions or criminal actions. If you’ve had your driver’s license revoked as the result of a criminal conviction like a DUI or a traffic infraction such as driving without insurance, you may be required to file a vehicle liability insurance document with the state, often called a SR-22 or FR44. When you file this form, you may be required to show proof that some sort of car insurance policy covers you, even if you don’t own a car. A non-owner policy is one affordable way to fulfill this requirement.

In some states, you can choose to pay a large deposit (upward of ten thousand dollars in most states) to get your license back. Non-owner car insurance premiums typically cost less than the deposit, though, and you can pay them monthly, as opposed to all at once.

State laws regulate how long you must carry a policy once you get your license back. Some require it for as little as three years while others can make it mandatory for five years. Cancelling the policy can trigger the insurance company to file a form with the state where the policy was issued to let them know that the policy no longer exists. This can serve as a warning to the state that you may be in violation of the terms of your license restoration agreement.

Should you have a lapse in coverage during this time, the state may revoke or suspend your license again. Getting a new policy may be pricier than it was before, and the state may impose additional financial penalties.

Who Doesn’t Need Non-Owner Car Insurance?

There are multiple scenarios where it doesn’t make sense for you to spend money on non-owner car insurance. It is important to carefully read the fine print of any car rental or ride-sharing user agreement to determine what type of coverage you need to best protect your assets.

If the insurance coverage offered by rental car and ride-sharing companies is enough to cover the total value of your assets, you probably don’t need a supplemental policy. An insurance agent can help guide you through the process to determine how much insurance is best for your lifestyle, taking cost and value into account.

Vehicle Subscription Services

Most companies that offer vehicle subscription services provide insurance as part of the package. These programs roll the cost of insurance in with the cost of maintenance, roadside assistance, and the fees associated with accessing the vehicle. As long as you keep up your monthly payments, your coverage should not lapse.

However, you’ll want to check the amount of insurance coverage that comes with the subscription. If liability amounts are not enough to cover your assets, you may want to consider purchasing a non-owner car insurance policy to cover any additional costs beyond the liability amount related to an accident.

If you’re purchasing a vehicle subscription for your another person, including your child, you’ll want to make sure your assets (and not just your child’s) are covered by a policy as well. An insurance broker can guide you through this process.

Car-Sharing Companies

There are many different car-sharing platforms, and each comes with unique risks and rewards. When you rent a vehicle from a car-sharing service such as Zipcar, the user agreement usually includes the minimum amount of car insurance required by the state where the car is registered. These vehicles are often low-cost, mass-market cars that aren’t very expensive to begin with, helping to keep costs down all-around.

For a fee, many ride-sharing companies allow you to upgrade your coverage via their loan agreements. If you frequently use a ride-sharing platform and want better coverage in the event of a collision, see if it makes better financial sense to purchase your own non-owner car insurance policy or just pay for the policy upgrade with each loan.

If you pay for your ride-sharing experience with a major credit card, you may be entitled to car-sharing coverage provided by your credit card company. Benefits vary, so check with your credit card company for details.

Below are details of the insurance policies of some of the best-known ride-sharing companies in the U.S. Remember to read the fine print before you sign on the line. Policies are subject to change at any time. This information is current at the time of publication.


Members aged 21 and older who joined Zipcar on or after March 1, 2015, receive liability coverage of $100,000 for bodily injury per person, $300,000 for bodily injury maximum, and $25,000 for property damage. If you are over 21 and joined Zipcar prior to March 1, 2015, you receive liability coverage of $300,000 combined single limit per accident. All personal injury protection coverage is “no-fault” protection provided at the minimum amount required by law. Members are responsible for a $1,000 fee per accident, which you can reduce or eliminate if you purchase a damage fee waiver.


Car-sharing service Turo partnered with Liberty Mutual in the U.S. to provide customers with three levels of insurance coverage. The company’s base plan covers renters with the state minimum amount for bodily injury and property damage. Turo’s premium plan ups that amount to $1,000,000 combined single limit coverage per accident. These policies are secondary to any insurance you already own, meaning that they cover the leftover costs from your accident after your personal auto insurance policy tops out.

If required by state law, Turo provides personal injury protection as well as underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage at the lowest level allowed under the law.

The company’s basic plan requires a deductible of $3,000. If the damage is more than $3,000, you’ll pay no more than $3,000. If damage is less than $3,000, you’ll pay only for the cost of the repairs. Turo’s premium plan comes with a $500 deductible. Renters can also choose to decline coverage.


Car2go provides up to $300,000 in insurance coverage. The company charges users $1 per loan period to help offset the costs of the insurance during the user’s first 90 rides of a calendar year. There is no $1 fee for additional rides. The deductible for users is $250.


Maven provides the state required minimum coverage to all renters. A $750 deductible may apply to any damage done to the car. If the damage does not meet or exceed the deductible, you’ll only pay for the cost of the damage. If damage occurs while you’re using the car in a safe manner when the accident occurs, Maven promises that drivers will not pay anything beyond the $750 deductible.

Maven’s insurance policy does not cover non-members. If you allow another driver to use the car while you have it reserved, you can be responsible for a $500 unauthorized driving fee, and Maven can revoke your membership.

Peer-to-Peer Ride-Sharing

Peer-to-peer ride-sharing allows an individual to use an app to rent out their car to strangers or friends. However, those apps serve merely as a connection and payment tool. The company operating the app has likely absolved itself of any liability in the event of a collision via their user agreement.

If the owner of the vehicle has an insurance policy, it may cover them and a casual driver who has permission to use the vehicle but not a person who has permission to use the vehicle as the result of a business transaction, which is what peer-to-peer ride-sharing is. If an insurance company discovers that a vehicle they cover is being used for business, it can choose to not honor the terms of the policy, retroactive to the time before an accident, in accordance with some state laws. Some insurance policies allow for ride-sharing but only cover the driver, not passengers.

If you rent using this type of service and you don’t have your own non-owner car insurance policy, you’re taking a great risk, as is the person renting you the car. In addition to accident-related damage, debris from the road or objects like a shopping cart may cause damage to a vehicle during your loan period. As the person who has possession of the vehicle at that time, you may be liable for that damage. If you don’t have proper coverage, those costs can be completely out of pocket.

Some insurance companies write policies specifically for people who rent out a vehicle as part of a peer-to-peer car-sharing program. Check with your local car insurance company agent to see if they offer this option. Remember to shop around for the best rates, and ask if bundling multiple policies can save you money.

Who Offers Non-Owner Car Insurance?

Not all car insurance companies issue policies in every state. If you currently have a renter’s, home, or life insurance policy, contact your broker and find out if they offer a non-owner car insurance policy that can be bundled with other policies. It may save you some money.

Currently, major insurance issuers, including Geico, State Farm, USAA, Nationwide, Farmers, and Travelers, offer non-owner car insurance policies. Regional insurers like Dairyland Auto Insurance out of Wisconsin and Serenity Insurance from Washington also offer policies. Make sure you shop around for the best rate.

If you frequently travel or split your time between two states (for example, if you winter in Florida but live in Michigan the rest of the year), make sure that whatever policy you buy covers you in each state.

Credit Card Coverage

Simply having a credit card does not entitle you to car insurance. Many people wrongly think they’re automatically covered when they pay for a car rental or ride-share with a credit card. You’ll need to read the fine print in your credit card agreement to find out what, if any, coverage you’re entitled to as a cardholder. It’s not a bad idea to call your card company to verify your understanding of the fine print.

Florida FR44 – What Is A Florida FR44?

Today I want to discuss the topic of “What Is a Florida FR44”?

In simple terms, a Florida FR44 Auto Insurance Policy has three main coverage components. You’ll often see the coverage listed as 100/300/50 on the Insurance Policy.

When reading the FR44 Auto Insurance Policy, the 100 means you’re covered up to $100,000 for any bodily injury you would inflict, $300,000 is the maximum payout for the injury of 2 or more people, and $50,000 is the maximum paid for any property damage you might have caused.

You can always purchase more Insurance coverage, but you won’t be legal if you purchase less Insurance coverage.

There are two “flavors” of Florida FR44 Auto insurance. If you have a vehicle, you’ll want what’s called a Florida FR44 Owner Insurance Policy. If you don’t have a vehicle, you can purchase a Non-Owner Insurance Policy.

The Florida FR44 Non-Owner Insurance policy will always be the cheapest way to go since the insurance company doesn’t have to cover the insurer for the cost of replacing a vehicle.

Now we understand that receiving a DUI in Florida is probably one of the most frustrating events of your life. While there’s nothing we, or anybody, can do to make it a “pleasant experience” overall, we can certainly make purchasing a Florida FR44 policy CHEAP. We specialize in Owner and Non-Owner Florida FR44 Auto Insurance Policies. By shopping the market across multiple insurance companies, we’re able to find the cheapest Florida FR44 Insurance with an A Rated or better company.

There are so many variables when it comes to Florida FR44 insurance policies. The fastest way to get quotes from multiple insurance companies in less than 5 minutes is to call 1-855-678-6977 and speak with one of our licensed insurance professionals. We have both English and Spanish speaking agents available.

Don’t make this harder than it has to be. Call the FR44 & SR22 Insurance Experts Today.

FR44 Insurance

What is Florida FR44 Insurance?

If you’re convicted of a DUI in the State of Florida, you’ll more than likely need FR44 Insurance. While not insurance in itself, it’s a Financial Responsibility Certificate required by the State, showing you have the required 100/300/50 coverage in place. The only other State requiring this type of insurance is Virginia. Typically you must maintain FR44 Insurance for a period of three years from your conviction date. This can vary on occasion and you’ll want to refer to the Florida DMV for your specific case.

What Coverage Does FR44 Insurance Require?

You will be required to carry 100/300/50 coverage, which is far above the minimum requirements of 10/20/10 in the State of Florida. What does this mean?

  1. You’ll have $100,000 coverage for a single injury in a single incident.
  2. You’ll have $300,000 coverage for multiple injuries in a single incident.
  3. You’ll have $50,000 coverage for any Property Damage in a single incident.

How to QUICKLY Get Your Florida Driver’s License Reinstated After a DUI

What Types of FR44 Insurance are Available?

There are basically two types of FR44 Insurance. Without going into a lot of detail, you have a Non Owner and an Owner policy. If you do not own a vehicle, but still want your license back, you can purchase Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance. If you do own a vehicle you will be required to purchase Florida FR44 Owner Insurance. The Owner version is always more expensive than the Non Owner due to the fact that the insurance company is taking on the liability of covering a vehicle. Follow this link for additional information regarding Florida Non Owner FR44’s.

Do You Have to Purchase FR44 Insurance?

No. You can actually just wait your time out without purchasing an FR44. If you were given a 3 year driving suspension, and you simply didn’t drive for the entire three years, you would be able to walk into a Florida DMV on the day after your suspension and have your driver’s license reinstated. Now most people aren’t able to go three years without being able to operate a motor vehicle, but if you’re one that can, it is an option.

FR44 Insurance

How to Find the Cheapest FR44 Insurance Price

Many companies offer FR44 Insurance. While the coverage must be the same (100/300/50) on all of them, it’s at the insurance companies’ discretion as to what they want to charge for the policy. Different insurance companies weigh different variables to be more or less relevant. One company may put more emphasis on age than another… or where you live… your driving record, etc. Therefore, you’ll want to work with an agency that shops Multiple Companies to find the best price for your unique situation. Make sure that agency is familiar with the FR44 Insurance Filing Process or you could incur additional fines and suspension times.

If you Need a Different Type of High Risk Auto Insurance:

Florida SR22 Non Owner Insurance:
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance:
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance:
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance (Mobile):
SR22 Insurance in All States: