Some Information You Might Want to Know About FR44's:
Florida FR44 – When Do You Need It?
If you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or other intoxicants, you’ll need a Florida FR44. In fact, this will be a requirement in order to get your drivers' license reinstated. Most consumers and many insurance agents are totally unfamiliar with Florida FR44 insurance, and recent changes have added to the confusion.
The FR44 filing process must be completed successfully before a Florida DUI driver can reinstate their license. Florida FR44 Insurance Requirements: Liability requirements are a minimum of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident of Bodily Injury Liability and $50,000 of Property Damage Liability (100/300/50). A single combined limit of $300,000 is also acceptable. The financial responsibility requirement for other drivers in Florida is 10/20/10.
After a Florida FR44 policy is issued it cannot be canceled and the compliance period is for three years from the date of conviction. The FR44 filing must be on a Florida insurance policy. FR44 Insurance Policy Types: In addition to a car or truck policy, you could get a Florida FR44 Non-Owner policy. If you don’t own a vehicle, but still want your license reinstated, a Non-Owner FR44 is usually a far cheaper alternative.
A Florida FR44 Non-Owner
policy excludes Personal Injury Protection, which is very expensive and required on every car or truck policy. The last option would be to get a Motorcycle policy, which also eliminates the need for Personal Injury Protection. The downside to this option is that you need to own a motorcycle. Of all the options listed, the Non-Owner Florida FR44 is the cheapest route.
Florida FR44 Insurance Cost
The State filing fee for a Florida FR44 is just 15.00 dollars. However, Increased liability limits, removal of safe driver discounts, and placement into a less favorable rating tier will ultimately increase your costs significantly. Over time, maintaining high limits and continuous prior insurance will provide noticeable discounts that reduce rates. Also, this risk group has been very profitable for companies (agents too) and therefore competition will likely increase. After 3 years of maintaining a Florida FR44, the rating points will be removed and the discounts will continue.
Florida FR44 Filing
The completed Florida FR44 form is electronically filed (submitted) to Florida’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility. After June 30, 2009, all companies must file electronically. Most of the time the DMV does not accept proof of an FR44 Filing from policyholders, but we can fax the form to the DMV for you. It takes less than 5 minutes for us to complete that process. Insurance companies are also required to notify the bureau if there is a change to your FR44 policy status, such as cancellation, termination, or lapse for any reason.
Miscellaneous Florida FR44 Facts
The actual name of the form is the Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Certificate FR-44. Florida statute 324.023 is applicable and effective after October 1, 2007. There are no driving restrictions associated with a Florida FR44 filing and Driver Exclusions are not permitted. There cannot be more than one Florida FR44 on the same driver (and why would you?). Noncompliance results in license and vehicle registration suspension.
If you need assistance with your Florida FR44 insurance, please contact us at: 1-855-678-6977