1-855-678-6977 FR44 & SR22 Experts, LLC

Quick Florida Driver's License Reinstatement

So You Got a DUI in the State of Florida… What Now?

As you probably know by now, being convicted of a DUI in Florida can be both embarrassing and expensive. If you’re like most of the thousands of people we help, you simply want to do your time, pay your fines, get your driver’s license reinstated, and move on with your life.

So what are the steps you need to take to get your driver’s license back and in good standing? Well, the first piece of advice I want to give you is to not overcomplicate things. The process is relatively simple as long as you work with an agency that specializes in these types of issues.

Step 1 – Enroll in a DUI School

Enroll and complete the curriculum at a DUI School. A simple Google search for DUI schools will show the options closest to you. You will need to attend class and graduate before moving on to the next step.

Step 2 – Obtain a Florida FR44 Policy

A DUI conviction in the State of Florida will require you to get a Florida FR44 policy. While this isn’t insurance in itself, it’s proof that you’re carrying the required liability limits. The limits that must be carried are 100/300/50. That means $100,000 for a single injury to a person, $300,000 for a single injury to multiple people, and $50,000 if you were to damage any property. Make sure you contact a reputable insurance agency that specializes in FR44 policies to ensure your paperwork gets filed quickly and correctly. If your paperwork is not filed correctly you could incur additional fines, penalties, and incur a longer suspension. The agency should be able to electronically file your FR44 Certificate immediately with the Florida DMV.

How to QUICKLY Get Your Florida Driver’s License Reinstated After a DUI

Step 3 – Have an Ignition Interlock Device Installed If Required

If you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, you will need to have the installation completed before your driver’s license will be reinstated. You will also need to purchase and show proof of a Florida FR44 before the Ignition Interlock Facility will perform the installation. If you do not own a vehicle you can get permission from the owner and have the device installed in their car.

Step 4 – Physically Go to the Closest Florida DMV

Physically go to the Department of Motor Vehicles with your FR44 Certificate. If you were required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed, you must also bring proof that the installation was completed by a licensed facility. Make sure you have money available to pay any fines imposed during your conviction. The DMV will tell you how much you owe.

Step 5 – Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated Immediately

Your Driver’s License will be reinstated on the spot.

While it really is that easy, there are some things you need to know. A Florida FR44 will be needed for a period of 3 years from your date of conviction. This doesn’t mean the date that the DUI happened, but rather the actual date you were formally convicted. If you do not maintain your FR44, the insurance company will notify the State of Florida that you’re no longer carrying a valid FR44 and the State will suspend your driving privileges immediately.  This will add three additional years to your FR44 requirement.

The Recap:

  1. Attend all required classroom courses.
  2. Obtain a Florida FR44 Policy and Certificate.
  3. If an Ignition Interlock Device is needed, get it installed.
  4. Go to the DMV with your FR44 Certificate and bring money to pay any fines.
  5. Get your driver’s license reinstated.

Here at FR44 and SR22 Experts, we’ve helped tens of thousands of Floridians get their license back. In under 10 minutes we’ll shop prices from multiple insurance companies, provide you with the lowest cost plan with an “A” Rated carrier, and have your FR44 Certificate filed with the Florida DMV.

If you have additional questions, or if you need quotes for FR44 Insurance, feel free to call us at 1-855-678-6977. You can also visit our website, www.MyFloridaFR44.com, and use our Free Quoting Engine.

If you Need a Different Type of High Risk Auto Insurance:

Florida SR22 Non Owner Insurance: www.MyFloridaSR22.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance: www.Cheap-Florida-FR44.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance: www.FR44Experts.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance (Mobile): m.FR44Experts.com
SR22 Insurance in All States: www.SR22Coverage.com

Florida Ignition Interlock Program

When Do You Need a Florida Ignition Interlock?

The Florida Ignition Interlock Program applies to those individuals that receive a DUI conviction in the State of Florida. Those requiring this device will have a driver’s license issued with a “P” indicator, which means any vehicle being operated must have this device installed. You can have a Ignition Interlock requirement from the first DUI throughout subsequent DUI’s. This mandate will be determined at the time of conviction.

How to QUICKLY Get Your Florida Driver’s License Reinstated After a DUI

IMPORTANT: You will need to purchase a Florida FR44 policy before the Ignition Interlock Device can be installed.

Basic rules to follow are listed below:

  • First Florida DUI Conviction – A Florida Ignition Interlock device may be required if court ordered, but is not mandatory
  • First Conviction if Blood Alcohol Level is 0.15 or above – At Least 6 Months
  • Second Florida DUI Conviction – At Least 1 Year
  • Second Florida DUI Conviction if Blood Alcohol Level is 0.15 or above – At Least 2 Years
  • Third Florida DUI Conviction – A Florida Ingintion Interlock Device may be required for at Least 2 Years
  • Fourth or More DUI Conviction – At Least 5 Years

Florida Ignition Interlock Device

Where Can You Go to Get a Florida Ignition Interlock?

What are the Basic Specifications of the Florida Ignition Interlock Device?

  • It has to contain Fuel Cell Technology
  • A sample breath sample of 0.025 must disable the vehicle
  • Must have a Rolling Retest option to randomly test as vehicle is being operated
  • Data must be able to be collected through web-based reporting and accessed 24/7
  • The person requiring the device must pay for it themselves
  • Must be able to record and store Visual Evidence of device use

Additional information regarding a Florida Ignition Interlock system can be obtained through the Florida Department of Motor Vehicle website. All listed installation facilities comply with Florida Administrative Code 15A-9.007, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Standards, and Florida Statute 316.1938. Most courts electronically report DUI convictions to the Department of Motor Vehicles. The time of the suspension and the requirement for a Florida Ignition Interlock device will also be noted. You should check with the Clerk of the Court to find out if an Ignition Interlock is required.

If you Need a Different Type of High Risk Auto Insurance:

Florida SR22 Non Owner Insurance: www.MyFloridaSR22.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance: www.Cheap-Florida-FR44.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance: www.FR44Experts.com
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance (Mobile): m.FR44Experts.com
SR22 Insurance in All States: www.SR22Coverage.com