Interlock Device Florida
When do you need a Florida Interlock Device?
You will need a Florida Interlock Device before reinstatement of your driver license if you were convicted of DUI or DWI and the court ordered it. Generally, for a first offense DUI, the court will require the interlock device in Florida if your blood alcohol level was greater than 0.15 or if you had a minor in the car. See chart for more specifics.
The court will require you to install an interlock device in Florida if you apply for a restricted license for work or business purposes.
You will need to bring proof of installation of the ignition interlock device in Florida, as well as your FR44 Florida Insurance to the Florida Driver License Service Center (DMV) . You can watch this video - Sam explains the steps required to reinstate your driver license in one of his first videos.
You will find loads of useful information about DUI License Reinstatement as well as FR44 Requirements on our page - just choose your town and you should have contact information for everyone you need.
Florida State Law Regarding Ignition Interlock Devices
|First Conviction||If Court Ordered|
|First Conviction if BAL is 0.15 or above, or minor in car||At least 6 months|
|Second Conviction||At least one year|
|Second Conviction if BAL is 0.15 or above,or minor in car||At Least 2 years|
|Third Conviction||At least 2 years|
|Four orMore Convictions (Condition of Hardship license)||At least 5 years|
Compiled from the FLSMV site
Authorized Florida Interlock Device Companies
|Contracted Provider||Contact Information||Approved Devices|
|Florida Interlock, Inc./Draeger||813-513-0000
|Model #: Draeger Interlock 7000|
|Model #SSI 2030|
|Model #: AMS 2000|
|Model #: Alcolock LR|
|Model #: Model #: 1001A|